Frequently Asked Questions

The following are questions that you may have regarding Person-Centered Medical Homes (PCMH) and on the process of becoming a PCMH recognized group.

If you don’t see your question here, we will be happy to answer your question over the phone. Call us at 1.203.949.4194 or email us at

DSS PCMH Questions

No, providers must be CMAP enrolled prior to submitting a PCMH application. Providers must also be enrolled as pediatric, internal medicine, family practice, or geriatric primary care providers (PCPs).

To start the enrollment application, click here, read the instructions on the following page, and then click "Next."

Yes, as long as the providers manage a panel of patients, they are CMAP providers, and if at least 60% of their clinical hours are spent providing primary care services to a panel of patients. PA and APRN practitioners that do not have their own panel of patients but serve to support the panel of a PCP can qualify as PCMH providers.

Practices that are eligible to participate in the DSS PCMH program are community based private primary care practices, Outpatient Hospital Clinics, and FQHC practices. For more information, click here.

If you are already recognized with National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) or The Joint Commission (TJC) under their PCMH program, you may complete the DSS PCMH application and submit it for approval. If you are not already recognized, you may join the Glide Path program, which provides technical assistance for achieving NCQA PCMH recognition or TJC accreditation and PCMH certification.

The Glide Path is a program that provides financial (private practices and hospital clinics only) and technical assistance (for all practice settings) to practices working toward PCMH recognition. For more information, click here.

Yes, a separate DSS PCMH application needs to be submitted for each practice site.

EHR Questions

An EHR is recommended as a valuable tool to achieve NCQA PCMH recognition under their current standards.

For more information on the NCQA pre-validation program, click here.

NCQA Questions

Individual or group practices with primary care providers (PCPs), where at least 75% of the PCPs’ patients come for:

  • First contact
  • Continuous care
  • Comprehensive PCP services

Please Note: Only clinicians who can be selected by a patient/family as a personal clinician are eligible.

All the PCPs who work together at a site must be included.

Multi-site practices:

  • Have three or more clinical sites
  • Share the same Electronic Medical Record (EMR)
  • Share the same policies and procedures for staff
  • Are able to be bound under a single contract

Q-PASS is NCQA’s Quality Performance Assessment Support System. It is the electronic platform for completing the PCMH recognition process.

NCQA PCMH recognition pricing is based on a practice’s eligibility for single site pricing or multi-site pricing, and on the number of clinicians in the practice. For more information, click here.

This portion of the HUSKY Health website is managed by Community Health Network of Connecticut, Inc.®, the State of Connecticut’s Medical Administrative Services Organization (ASO) for the HUSKY Health program. For the general HUSKY Health website gateway, please visit HUSKY Health includes Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program, and is administered by the Connecticut Department of Social Services (DSS).